Selecting a display unit will set that unit as the default display unit. You will see a Success popup when selecting a default display unit.
Not all default units are used in every case, and customers may also require custom units. To avoid clutter and keep the unit list clear and relevant, there should be an option to hide unused default units without permanently removing them.