Workflows: Planning Cycle, Roll Back & Roll Forward

Workflows: Planning Cycle, Roll Back & Roll Forward

Settings: Configuring Planning Cycle

By default, Arkieva operates on a monthly planning cycle, with plans repeating at the beginning of every month. However, you can accommodate any planning cycle by editing, adding, or deleting tasks. 

At times, it may be necessary to denote certain days as “nonworking days” which affect all plans.  Each task has an effort associated with it, and the length of the task is automatically extended by the non-working days. For example, if a 2-day task starts on Friday, and Saturday and Sunday are designated non-working, the task will automatically be extended through Monday. All nonworking days within your planning cycle are denoted by a grey column within the timeline view. 

To edit the nonworking days, click the Settings button in the toolbar. The Workflow Settings drawer will slide out.




There are three ways to add nonworking days to the Calendar: Add individual days to the Calendar, Block off specific days of the week as Nonworking Days, and Regional Holidays. 

Select a day on the calendar and click Add to block off that specific day as a nonworking day. You can type an optional description first before clicking Add. 





The nonworking day will be highlighted in red on the calendar. Select the day and click remove to revert the nonworking day to a working day. 





Secondly, you can check of specific days to be nonworking days throughout the calendar. For example, Saturday and Sunday. These days will be grayed out in the calendar.  








Lastly observed holidays by country can be marked as nonworking days.

Click Add Regional Holidays, the select the country.











Next, go back to the Workflow Settings drawer and click Edit on the country selected. Here you will see all the country's holidays toggled on by default. 








Roll Back Period View

You can view a previous period workflow to compare to your current workflow by using the Select Date calendar dropdown. The previous workflow is read only. To go back to the current workflow, select that date from the dropdown calendar. Warning: Do not go back to the previous workflow without completing the current workflow, this will wipe out the current workflow and you will not be able to view it again. 













Roll Forward 

Planning is a continuous activity. Once a plan is completed, you can start the next cycle by rolling forward the plan to a new start date. The dates of previous tasks and activities are automatically reset to reflect the new planning cycle. 





Know that a roll forward cannot be undone, as shown by the warning below.





If selecting a roll forward date more than a month into the future, a confirmation popup will show asking you again if you would like to make this roll forward action. 





Roll Forward Based On Planning Period Change Strategy

When the planning period changes based on strategy and/or user action, the workflow will perform a Roll Forward operation.



From the Planning Horizon Strategy dropdown, select Today,  Increment by 1 day, or Start of the Month to have access to the Roll-forward workflow processes based on horizon strategy dropdown.




From the dropdown, select a strategy or multiple strategies. 





Then under the Change schedule section, you can select an Update Frequency from the dropdown to create an automatic roll forward update to occur.